What to draw?

This has never been a problem for me.  Although I feel I have lost some of the wonder and excitement of drawing what is around me.  Sometimes I need to be reminded.  There are times that I feel lost after completing three semesters of Sketchbook Skool.  Yes, I have picked up lots of new ideas and techniques.  But where am I?  I enjoy the style of Tommy Kane.  Very detailed work in pen with lots of crosshatching.  I also enjoy the looser style of Danny Gregory, Liz Steel and Melanie Reim.  I enjoy sketching people, faces, buildings and objects – still life.  I am not a landscape artist.  I really do tend to stay away from nature.  I enjoy being in and looking at all forms of nature.  I just don’t feel I can do justice to it’s natural beauty.

So where am I?  I like to keep myself balanced by jumping between the detailed style of Tommy Kane and a loose style of sketching.

Here is today’s sketch of my Dansko shoes. Carbon pen and ink, Uniball gel pen and ink wash.   I will probably spend the rest of the day with my pens….. and I did…I read in Yahoo that you should check your spices.  Smell them to see if they are alive.  So I did that and sketched it. I had the urge to draw after dinner and looked at my mailbox keys.  These I can do again.  I  can throw them down at anytime for a new layout. Both sketches are in pen and ink with a light watercolor wash.

Danskospiceskeysrevised

Lastly I had the urge to draw my car again.  It is a Honda Fit.  At 11 p.m. at night the garage is cold.  We are at the start of winter in the Pacific Northwest.  Being somewhat frustrated I found a photo of the new 2015 Honda Fit and tried sketching from a photo.  I had spent some of the day looking at the penmanship of  France Belleville-Van Stone, author of the new book Sketch.  She has a very similar style to Tommy Kane.  Tommy Kane was one of the instructors in “Beginning”, the first session of Sketchbook Skool.  I hear him in my head when I sketch.  Tommy loves it when a sketch goes skew he includes it as a part of the sketch.  Does not get all bent out of shape and tear out the page.  So I sketched the 2015 Fit and then this morning went back to a sketch of my Honda Fit that I did  last month. I decided to work on the sketch a little more.  So I am posting a before and after.  Not sure  if I should have left it in the before stage.  Who knew a Honda Fit could be so interesting.

fitfitmyfitmyupdated

5 thoughts on “What to draw?

    1. You would love Sketchbook Skool! I have taken three sessions, Beginning, Seeing and Storytelling. Here is a link to the Skool. There is an option to take one free class on the second page of the blog.
      http://sketchbookskool.com/blog/
      Please get back to me if you have any problems with this link or I can tell you more. There is a also a Sketchbook Skool Facebook Group that you could join.

      Like

Leave a Reply

