Going Digital!

I have been reading ‘Sketch’ by France Belleville-Van Stone.  It is good book which encourages you to sketch for the pure joy of it.  I feel I am already there however the book is a good read and the sketches inspiring.  There is one chapter in the book on “Going Digital”.  It covered some of the same apps I have on my Ipad which I haven’t used in quite some time.

I thought it would be interesting to revisit sketching on my Ipad after sketching on a daily basis for the past year.  I have Paper 53, Procreate and Art Rage. Paper 53 is my favorite as you save your work in sketchbooks or journals.  There has been a slight learning curve which has been shortened by reading the manual.  I would really like to be able to sketch on my Ipad when in a coffee shop.  So first up, of course, is a ‘Selfie”

IMG_3102web

The  second sketch is my money purse.  I decided to draw the purse in pen and ink with a watercolor wash and then in Paper 53.  I was really pleased with the results.  I have learned that you will get a nice color wash in Paper 53 by relaxing and assuming you are working in watercolor.  The first sketch is in pen and ink with watercolor and the second digital.  It is definitely worth exploring more.  I don’t see it replacing my paper sketchbooks but it does give me another option for sketching.

purse2Purseweb

5 thoughts on “Going Digital!

  1. Thank you Carmel for reminding me to check out Digital- I have Paper 53 so will take a look- I’m still loving the reality of pen, watercolour & paper though!

    Like

    1. Isn’t it a great book. I love the chapter on “Prompts”. Every so often I get in an “art funk”. Just looking through her book inspires you to look everyday objects in your life in a new light. Thank you for the compliment on my art.

      Like

Leave a Reply

