You have filled how many sketchbooks?

2014 has drawn to a close.  I started to sketch on a daily basis  Christmas 2013.  So I am well into my second year.  I believe I have filled about 18 sketchbooks.  However, it is not about how many sketchbooks you fill.  It is about the process and for me…progress.  It is in my nature to want to move forward, improve.

It appears I have 7 sketchbooks  in progress at the moment. A daily or play-around sketchbook.  This is normally a 7 x 10 Canson XL mixed media sketchbook.  I will fill one of these up in two months.  A folding Selfie sketchbook which I made myself.  I will fill one of these up in 2 months.  There is a Moleskine sketchbook.  I am struggling to fill it up as I feel everything has to be perfect. A Stillman & Birn, 6 x 9 Alpha sketchbook.  I started this for my online course, SketchingNow Foundations.  It appears to be too small for the exercises so I have been filling up the very first sketchbook I started  which is a 9 x 12 Strathmore Visual Journal mixed media.  I also have an 8 x 11 Canson hard cover sketchbook. I am using for people and I have started a 4 x 6 Pentalic sketchbook which I will keep in my handbag.  So I am off to a good start in 2015.

Some discoveries from 2014.   My favorite pen and ink is the Platinium Carbon Desk Pen with carbon ink.  I keep coming back to this pen. The ink drys instantly and is waterproof.  My favorite sketchbook is  the Stillman & Birn 6 x 9 Alpha sketchbook.  It looks nice, the paper is great to work on and it is not as intimating at the Moleskine watercolor sketchbook.  My favorite watercolor paints are Daniel Smith and Schmincke watercolor pans.  I am still not sold on water-soluble colored pencils.  I like water-soluble graphite.  My favorite gel pens are Uni-ball Vision and Uni-ball Signo Um-15. I enjoy working with ink washes in a selection of waterbrushes.  Watercolor brushes are still a mystery!

Although it has been the Christmas week, it has been a quiet week.   So plenty of time to experiment.

My car keys in Uni-ball Vision gel pen.

keys2

I needed inspiration during the week.  So turned to Chapter 6 – Prompts,  from France Belleville-Van Stone’s book “Sketch” and found bananas.  The first was completed with a setup drawing. The second is in straight pen.

BanananosetupBananasetup copy

And finally a page of hands and fingers.   I like this page because I have embraced a mistake and went with it!   I have six fingers in the main drawing.

handsoftime

Leave a Reply

