Summer has arrived!

Finally summer has arrived in Oregon.  My first love is art and my second love is sailing with my husband.  We spent most of last week working on one of our boats at the marina.  My husband does most of the work.  I sketch!

I had quickly packed my sketching kit.  It is a little different to the one that I take into coffee shops.   I quickly discovered I have a need to brush up on the watercolor skills when out in the field.  My brush was too small and the paint dried quickly in the heat.  I was please with my initial sketch of a house, but messed up with the watercolor.  So I will not post this time.  I will be going back next week to do a second sketch of the house and would like to compare both in a future posting.

I did find a new Starbucks.  One that I could sit down and spread my supplies out on the table. No lap sketching and people actually stayed around for a while so I could sketch them!  Two versions of the second person

Jantzen2Jantzen Jantzen3

Please click on any of the sketches for a close up look.

The first two were in my Fabriano Venezia sketchbook.  The last sketch was a warm up sketch in 4 x 6 Pentalic sketchbook. I actually like the warm up better!

Jantzen5 Jantzen4

I spent one morning at the Starbucks in Target near the marina.  No one stays around too long.  Sometimes it gets frustrating.

I am back home again and evaluating my sketching supplies. I have some different brushes packed for my next trip.

I started playing with my watercolor colored pencils to see if I wanted to include them in the kit.  They will stay!

The following is a self portrait with a Faber Castell Albrechi Durer watercolor colored pencil.  The second version has been tinkered with in Photoshop.

CarmelCarmel2

3 thoughts on “Summer has arrived!

  1. No one in the new Starbucks I visited noticed me. Even with my sketchbook and pens on the table. Most of the time people think you are their studying. Give it a try. Wear a hat! Hats a great to hide under!

    Like

Leave a Reply

