Let’s go to Target…

and grab a tall coffee at Starbucks.  I have been getting  coffee at Starbucks for years and always have the same.  A tall coffee with room for cream.  I have no idea what those fancy drinks taste like. I also like English tea, plain and simple.

I had a busy weekend in Portland up at the marina.   Tried a number of locations but had the most fun at Target.  The second day I secured the perfect table with a view of shoppers at the checkout.

This was my warm up sketch of the day.  Platinum carbon pen with EF nib. I then changed to the Pentel pocket brush pen for the next set of sketches.  The sketchbook is a Strathmore 7.5 x 9.5 inches mixed media.

kidscolor

target2color target1color

I did not paint on site.  This location is a busy one.  I guess if I paint it would mean less sketching.  I decided to highlight one person on each page. I was really pleased with the capture of the shopper with her arm up in the air on the first page.  On the second page the woman had a top on with a leopard pattern.  I am also pleased with the action of the foot.   I added each person as they came into view on the page.  Click on either image for a close-up.

I also turned to captured people waiting in line for their coffee.  Adding each person as they arrived to order their coffee.

lineup2colorlineupcolor1

These were sketched with a Platinum carbon pen with an EF nib.  I added the color later.

After nearly 60 minutes of sketching I was getting tired.  This young student was sitting so close to me.  So I could not resist.  Nor the woman putting creamer in her coffee.  Combination of brush pen and carbon pen.  .

studentcolor

Just realized I have not posted from the first day.  So another post coming up.  Thanks for looking.

3 thoughts on “Let’s go to Target…

    1. Laura, thank you! It is a soft cover version with a dark brown cover. You can get it at Dick Blicks. However, Michaels craft store keep it in stock. I will only buy at Michaels with a 40% or 50% coupon. This brings it down to $13 and just under what you will pay at Dick Blicks. It has 64 pages. The pages will open flat. Here is the link to Dick Blick http://www.dickblick.com/products/strathmore-softcover-500-series-mixed-media-art-journal/

      I hope it works!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

