Sketchbook Skool!

Yes another klass is in session at Sketchbook Skool. This time it is Expressing.  Each workshop is six weeks long with a new instructor each week. The 4th week (next week!) is the week I am most excited about.  It will feature Felix Scheinberger, an illustrator, artist and the author of “Urban Watercolor Sketching”. This is the book I keep coming back to!

Week one featured typography and hand-lettered art  with Koosje Koene, co-founder of the Skool.  Week two with illustrator Jill Weber creating small handmade sketchbooks.  We are now in week three with Sabine Wisman, an author and illustrator from the Netherlands.  While all the sessions are good, week three has peaked my interest with creating an infographic as part of the session.

This Klass together with an ongoing watercolor class and various Craftsy workshops are keeping me focused and sane during a very wet Oregon winter.  However, I have maintained my daily drawing practice of drawing from life.

afaces

This is a section of a small accordion sketchbook from week two of Sketchbook Skool.

acup

I know you have seen this girl before.  The coffee cup was fun to do. The book illustrates the people I find and sketch in coffee shops.  I could not get a good photograph of the whole book.

pens

My Infographic from Week 3.  I have tried to answer “Why” I have each pen!  Not a lot of information on the pens just what influenced my decision to buy them. Only three of these pens are not in use. Most of the nibs are different ranging from EF, F, calligraphy or bent.  The inks are also different ranging from permanent black, gray turquoise to water-soluble black and brown.

I am afraid there is no homework from week one on typography. Not a lot of interest at the moment. I tend to draw with my pens and not write with them. I may come back to this later!

Sketchbook:  Stillman & Birn – Alpha
Accordion sketchbook – Stonehenge paper
Daniel Smith Paints
Platinum carbon pen EF nib
Lamy pen with calligraphy nib

Find out more information on Sketchbook Skool here

Felix Scheinberger’s  book “Urban Watercolor Sketching”.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Sketchbook Skool!

  1. Hi Carmel! I’m taking this class too! 😄 I’m still in the second week but enjoying the lessons. I like your pen illustration! And your people sketches as always are amazing. 🌟🎨👍

    Like

    1. Felix’s week was so good. It was based on his book demonstrating the watercolor techniques he uses. I struggle with watercolor at times so I enjoyed watching and learning from him. He was also the reason I signed up. While I appreciated some of the other sessions the homework was so involved and similar they did not hold my interest. I may come back to them. There was one session on making stamps that was very good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

