Walking towards me!

I went sketching yesterday with the specific purpose of drawing people walking towards me.  We have a mall with empty tables in the center of the main walkway so it was easy to position myself.  I would have liked more people.  So I could have filled people in as they walked past me.  Profiles of people walking. I will save that for another day!

 

walkers2walkers

No facial details.  (That was hard for me!)  One foot planted firmly on the ground.  You will notice it is the same foot.  I am not sure if I went into auto pilot mode when I was sketching!  I do remember looking at what they were doing with their arms.  There is a lot to think about and you have to be quick.  It is that being quick and ensuring you are drawing what you are seeing is the trick.  I would like to find a location where there are a lot of people and they are repeating the same motion.  So what you miss catching with one person you catch with the next. I have two locations in mind.  I am really looking forward to the summer markets opening.

Sketchbook:  Daler Rowney Studio sketchbook – 70 lb paper…not suitable for water media.
Pen: Faber Castell calligraphy marker
Wash:  diluted ink in an old waterbrush (Lexington Gray)

8 thoughts on “Walking towards me!

Leave a Reply

