Triads!

I  do a lot of watercolor splashing in my sketchbooks because it is easy to splash a little color and be done!   I visit Handprint for information on pigments. A second interesting website/blog belongs to Jane Blundell, an Australian watercolor artist, who makes sense of all those pigments listed on the Handprint site.  She also teaches an online class..Mastering Watercolor.

Here is Jane Blundell

The course covers pigments, color theory, basic watercolor techniques and working with triads.

Triads I found interesting.  Although I was not sure how to work with them. Lesson 10 involves painting a still life setup of pears in three different triads. This is actually painting and not splashing which involved planning and slowing down.  A definite break from my 60 second sketches.It was fun once I got started!!  Lots of mistakes, so lots of learning!

pear2

The first triad is Pyrrol Crimson, Quinacridone  Gold and Ultramarine Blue (Daniel Smith paints) and a touch of Burnt Sienna.  I missed having an ink sketch and soon discovered I needed to give more thought to the edges.

pear3

The second triad is Quinacridone Rose, Hansa Yellow Medium and Phthalo Blue (Daniel Smith) and a touch of Burnt Sienna

earth

The third triad Indian Red, Goethite (brown ochre) and Cerulean Blue Chromium (Daniel Smith) and a touch of Raw Umber The earth triad!!

pear4

Lastly  I decided to play and do two paintings at the same time.  It got confusing but helped to pass the time while the other painting needed to dry. I returned to the first triad listed above Pyrrol Crimson, Quinacridone  Gold and Ultramarine Blue

The first three were on Arches, cold press, 140 lb.  This last study was to test Fluid watercolor paper, cold press, 140 lb.  I have an easy block of this paper and yes it is “easy” compared to a normal block of watercolor paper.  I ended up liking the Fluid paper more than the Arches.

I much prefer working in a sketchbook.  I could turn the Fluid blocks into sketchbooks at the local print shop.  I may now do more painting and less splashing.  Just two more lessons in this wonderful class.

Although late last night I did a couple of 60 second sketches and some SPLASHING while watching  late night TV!

sketchy

 

6 thoughts on “Triads!

Leave a Reply

