Something new!

No sketches of people at the market or  Starbucks. Although I visited both locations. This week something new!  I will have to admit some weeks I start to question what I am sketching.  It just happens for a moment and is usually when I introduce a new concept into my work.  While I enjoy my loose style of sketching people.  I am still searching for my style in watercolor painting. It makes sense it should also be somewhat loose.

I  like the work of Tracey Fletcher and her workshop Delicious Paint.  Layering my colors works sometimes for me. I also like  the painting style of various urban sketchers Liz Steel, Marc Taro Holmes, Shari Blaukopf, Suhita Shirodkar and lately  Anne-Laure Jacquart. The last artist introduced me to the work of Jean Haines.

I have struggled with watercolor blooms!  Trying not get to them.  This week I have been practicing to create them. Finally a loose form of  watercolor painting can be found in Jean Haines’ Atmospheric Watercolors.  My goal now is to introduce some components of this loose style of painting into my sketches.  I know it can be done!  (I am sorry the scan of her book is not straight!!)

book

Here are some of my watercolor washes.  Jean Haines recommends doing three each morning.  I manage 1 or 2 a day every other day.  I still go the the market,  Starbucks and Life Drawing each week. Plus add sailing to the mix! It is somewhat of a juggling act.

color1

I study these washes.  Some I see things and I will eventually go back to them to paint a loose form of what I am seeing.  I sure wish I had noted what colors were used!  It is a different way of painting.  I am not working with a limited palette and mixing my colors.  Although I can see color theory  coming into this style of painting.  It is easy to mix mud if you are not too careful!

Life Drawing Update: I have attended the class for just on four weeks.  I could not work on newsprint as suggested nor graphite or charcoal. I have settled on working with a brush pen and colored pencil on sketchbook paper.  I am hoping to bring watercolor into the mix at some stage. When we have a long pose I can finish in 5 minutes!  That leaves me to drawing the same pose a couple of times with a different tool.   Something I don’t mind doing.  When I get tired I start drawing the other artists.  It is a good deal as no one is going to get up and leave!

I was going to post a sketch from life drawing.  I have noted some artists give a warning. Maybe I need to create a separate page. I am certainly open to any ideas!

Here are my materials!

Washes:  Arches color press paper with Daniel Smith paints.
Life Drawing:  90lb sketchbook paper and Kuretake Sumi Brush Pen.

2 thoughts on “Something new!

Leave a Reply

