Seventeen!

It has been a busy week.  We said goodbye to sailboat number 2 and hello to sailboat number 3.  I also finished sketchbook number 16 and started 2016 – sketchbook 17.

Sketchbook seventeen is a Stillman and Birn Alpha 5.5 inches x 8.5 inches with 94 pages.  It will be interesting to see if it takes longer than a month to complete.

end

The end of sketchbook sixteen.

17

The start of sketchbook seventeen complete with a stamp.  My lino cutting and stamp making venture is slow going.  There is a learning curve which if I am not careful will distract me from sketching.

pencils

Looking at using watercolor pencils more.  I have spent sometime organizing a palette of pencils to keep on hand.

Since completing these pages I have made two trips to Starbucks.  More sketches to come!

11 thoughts on “Seventeen!

    1. Yes I do have Prismacolor and probably too many. I worked in colored pencil exclusively for over 12 years in a completely different style of semi realism. Thank you for giving the heads up. Prismacolor are top quality!

      Like

    1. Thank you Jill. The colored pencils in the sketchbook are watercolor pencils. I really don’t have a favorite set of colored pencils (non watercolor) Prismacolor are suited to pastelbord and paper with a slight tooth and will take lots of burnishing, Derwent Colorsoft on sanded surfaces (Colorfix) and Faber Castel is perfect for pastelbord. I have not work in colored pencil for a number of years. I know there have been some great advances in color pencil techniques.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have Prismacolor which I LOVE but would like to try some others. I have Staedtler watercolor pencils but I don’t like them that well or maybe I just don’t know how to use them properly. Thanks for the info! 😄🎨👍

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Birgit. Congratulations on starting Number 10! I have only just started numbering the first page of my sketchbooks in this manner. I normally leave the last page blank or would rush a sketch to end a book. This way you get over the fear of the first page and end on a nice note!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

