Happy New Year!

I realize I have been missing for a while.  Sometimes you just need to sketch!

Busy times during the Holidays.  I took my sketchbook everywhere in 2016 and as a result filled 19 sketchbooks during the year. Some sketching news ….

A new sketching group has been formed in Port Townsend.  We have decided to see if we can establish a local Chapter of Urban Sketchers.  We are tentatively called Urban Sketchers Port Townsend and will be submitting our application in January.   I have been busy building the group’s blog and will post a link when complete. I will also keep you posted on  our application.

I am heading  home to  Australia in February.  My first stop is Sydney to attend a two day workshop with Liz Steel .  I am excited about the workshop and being in Sydney.  Sydney is my hometown.  We will leave Sydney for Tasmania and then head up to Queensland.  Heading home late March.

The Port Townsend group met last week to sketch.  I sketched a building.  The same building twice. Two different styles and two different pens.  The first sketch took 30 minutes the second sketch took 5 minutes  and was in straight ink.  Lamy pen with fine nib for the first sketch and Sailor pen with bent nib for the second.  The second sketch  is how I sketch people!

build1abuild2

This morning I ended the year at my favorite place…Starbucks.

img_0051
Happy New Year may 2017 be full of happiness and sketches.

Save

10 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Sounds like you’ve been busy, Carmel! 🎨👍 Very cool that you are starting an Urban Sketching group in Port Townsend! 💜 And your trip home to Australia sounds wonderful! I will look forward to seeing it thru your sketches! Cheers!! 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carmel, loving the discovery of your blog! You look natural in Starbucks, my Dear. Good memory there with you! And I am so looking forward to seeing the new Usk PT blog you’ve put so much of your heart and soul into. I think both your building sketches are quite good, but I do like the second better. It’s so YOU!

    Like

  3. wow, going to Australia and taking a course with Liz. Sound like a great start to the new year. I’m currently working my way thru her Foundations course. The holidays kind of got in the way but hope to be back at it soon. Looking forward to hearing more about your trip and seeing all your sketches of course!! Happy New Year Carmel!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I am excited about the Liz Steel course. I did Foundations and the other follow up courses with Liz. She has a great teaching style. The workshop will be the icing on the cake. Yes, I will be sketching and posting! Happy New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

